Family: The Art of Being

This is a lullaby to self for I’ve never dared to sleep ever since I woke up from a heartache filled dream.

Loving you feels like being a mother who has been waiting for her daughter to call her back. It feels like being unwanted, often celebrating to my fullest in your half-hearted hesitant and distant replies. It’s like falling in love with the people who say they love you but do not love you back.

Loving you feels like being a father who lives in constant fear of forgetting how his children look. It feels like being unwished when I see you uploading your photographs on Instagram after denying me of any. It’s like making peace with your excuses, knowing arguments can only ruin us.

Loving you feels like being a brother who was always there to help you at your worst only to have been the forgotten one at the very next moment of celebration. It feels like being a burden on your totally okay, not to be told of anything living you’ve been building from your secret recipe books.

Loving you feels like being a sister who has always been accused of being way too emotional for expressing how she feels. It’s like being responsible for never understanding how hard you were working on making me feel like a prayer, recalled once every day right before you went to sleep.

Loving you feels like being a son who has never been anything but a disappointment. It feels like being told it is okay for my heart to remain broken because of thousands of other people are going through a heartbreak too. It’s like I’m nothing special; just ordinary.

Loving you feels like being a daughter who has been pleading for help. It feels like doing every damn thing for someone you love, but nothing will ever be enough. Sometimes it makes me wish for having been aborted before my birth instead of the suffering I’ve to endure with a smile.

Loving you made me feel like a family; each member staying together yet living a separate life. A family without care; one in which everyone begs each other to treat themselves as the person they’ve always loved. It feels like being unloved, for you couldn’t find the courage to love me back.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.